Vegan: Day 1

Well hello!

I thought it would be a positive thing to write daily about my experiences and encounters as a vegan. It’ll probably consist only of “Hey! Here’s what I ate today!” and the occasional Instagram of something yummy and a recipe or two. At any rate, I think it will make me much more driven to live a more sustainable life and make the switch to veganism a permanent one rather than a month-long trial.

While I consider myself the house expert of all things vegetarian, I have to admit I am a total novice when it comes to vegan cooking/vegan substitutions and the like. Furthermore, tiny Kirksville doesn’t have luxuries like Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, so it’ll definitely be an interesting ride.

My first all-vegan meal was yesterday at dinner. I am a Pinterest fiend and have been finding vegan gems left and right and tried my hand at this guy:

Image

Courtesy of my Instagram, I present to you Black Bean Salad with Corn, Avocado & Lime-Cilantro dressing. Be sure to check out the original recipe!

I took some of my own liberties with this dish. I don’t really like peppers that much (it’s a weird texture thing) so I omitted those and threw in a bunch of diced tomatoes. Furthermore, the store didn’t have shallots so those were omitted completely. The recipe calls for 9 tablespoons of EVOO…that’s a lot. Let me say right now that I, Danielle Allana Waldron, am a huge advocate of EVOO — it’s tasty, has Omega 3 and does wonders for your skin. But, everything in moderation and 9 tablespoons is just a lot. I ended up doing three, which was the perfect amount for me.

The recipe also calls for 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar. I put it in there but I think next time, I’ll skip that. It was too sweet and seemed to take away from the fresh taste of those beautiful vegetables.

Eat the salad at room temperature! I paired it with some carrot sticks and plain hummus and had a nice, low-key vegan plate that left me pleasantly full and content.

Will I make this recipe again? I have to confess, probably not. If I did, I would definitely amend a few things. I’ll give it a 6 out of 10.

(breathe)

So for today…my first full day as a vegan!

I have to go back to the store to grab a few things that I forgot/the store didn’t have yesterday. I think I’ll check out HyVee this time, as I think their selection is larger for those types of health/whole foods. My first vegan grocery experience left me feeling like a proud mother hen yesterday and I looked at my cart full of legumes, corn, produce and the like with nothing but love, so I’m excited to experience that again today. It was amazing, though, how much dairy is in things you wouldn’t even expect — I.E. whey in nearly EVERYTHING. Seriously. I had to go through the ingredients of everything I purchased and was shocked.

For breakfast, I kept it simple with old-fashioned oats with a tiny, tiny sprinkle of brown sugar. Normally, I opt for Kashi with skim milk in the mornings and I almost did that with my Silk today but I didn’t think Silk Very Vanilla would be a wise choice for breakfast (it’s delicious in my afternoon coffee, but with 15 g of sugar in one serving, it isn’t ideal in my cereal bowl. Sugar crash? No, thanks.)

Lunch was simple and literally no different than what I usually opt for: a peanut-butter sandwich on whole wheat with a banana. Wash it down with a coffee with steamed soymilk and you’re golden.

Normally at lunch, I drooled for Chobani (the Almond Coco-Loco flips were my weakness!!) I think that’ll be the biggest challenge of going vegan since I loved Greek yogurt. With time, with time.

Dinner is TBD. I’m weighing my options whether I want to try a new recipe via Pinterest (check out all of my vegan goodies!!) or keep it simple with a “chicken” taco. Boca makes these fantastic vegan “chicken” patties out of texturized vegetable protein that you can buy breaded or unbreaded. On my list today is that of the unbreaded variety so I think I might grill one up with some seasoning, mash an avocado and a tomato and wrap it up. I always did this with Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burgers…but much to my chagrin…those have whey. [sighs.]

Heading out to the store in a bit and kicking around ideas for dinner. I’ll be back tomorrow after my first full day of being vegan…yayay!

xo,

DW

4 thoughts on “Vegan: Day 1

  1. Sounds like you are off to a great and yummy start. I challenged myself to 30 days vegan just over 2 1/2 years ago and have been ever since. For your morning breakfast i would recommend unsweetened almound milk as long as there are no allergies. It has a nice flavor and no added sugar. Its a great alternative to soy. Cant wait to hear more about your journey!

    • Thank you SO much! I am definitely really excited to try some new things that I otherwise might not have tried — excited to see where this journey takes me. That’s AWESOME that you have been vegan ever since. I’m so inspired and hope I can do it, too.

      Thanks for the suggestion with the almond milk! Thankfully I don’t have any food allergies so I will definitely check it out as an alternative for my cereal! 🙂

      Thanks for the support, it means the world!

    • Thanks so much! I’m really excited but also a little nervous — this is a good thing (I think!) Followed you back and am creeping all of your delicious recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

