The Happy Vegan

Good morning, everyone!

I am entering my 3.5 day of being a vegan and can say with confidence that it is one of the best decisions I have made for myself in a long time. In fact, I regret not making the switch much earlier. I feel so much more in touch and connected with my Earth, my body and the food that I’m eating. The latter has been something I have struggled with, once during high school and once during college just recently. It’s something that really doesn’t go away but I think this is a positive step to strengthening my relationship with food. At any rate, I am much more conscious of what I put in my body and where it is sourced from. 

My food today is reflective of the last few days because I need to finish my avocado today so: 

  • Breakfast: Currently sipping my green smoothie. It’s the same as yesterday except I actually thought to chill the water in the freezer 15 minutes before blending. Made a world of difference! I threw in a bit more spinach and can definitely taste it this time but I actually really like it. YAY for veggies in my breakfast. 
  • Lunch: Peanut butter on whole wheat with a banana and a vanilla soy latte, which I can already hear beckoning my name. 
  • Dinner: “Chicken” taco with carrot sticks on the side. 

I have meetings today for class, which start on Friday for me (technically, classes start tomorrow but I don’t have classes on Thursdays) so it’s nice that my meals won’t require a lot of prep today. 

In addition to all of the mental changes I have noticed (I have MUCH more clarity and I feel a lot less drowsy), I am definitely starting to notice the physical changes. My sleep has significantly improved and I feel extremely energized in the morning and not bloated. I don’t feel jittery around lunchtime, which I used to. I don’t feel at all sluggish throughout the day and my body clock just feels properly aligned as a whole. 

The thing that gives me the most gratitude, however, is how I feel like I am really, really living a sustainable life that is friendly to the Earth, animals, my body and my food. It’s a very wholesome thing that I can’t really explain and it’s something I haven’t felt as a vegetarian in a while. Maybe because I just got used to it or even too comfortable? Either way, this is a step in the right direction, I feel it. 

Happy Mid-Week. 

 

Leave a Reply

