Kale, anyone?

I had a small tragedy this morning followed by a great revelation.

Let me start with the bad news: I was out of my first bag of spinach and I didn’t want to open the other one until I finished my bag of kale, which I had yet to open. In my grogginess and hunger, I opened the bag of kale in terror. I was mixing spinach AND kale with my 1/2 banana and blueberries? Needless to say, I was skeptical.

That feeling went away really quickly upon my first sip — divine. Where has this leafy green been all 21 years of my life?! For those of you who don’t know, kale is a leafy green in the broccoli family. It has the texture and aroma of cabbage. It has a ton of beta carotene (like carrots!) and is a great source of calcium, which is something I have been monitoring ever since cutting out dairy. Turns out, kale is getting its fifteen minutes (more, actually) in the spotlight. Check out this article the Washington Post recently posted about the popularity of kale related to its health benefits.

I was groggy and hungry this morning, so I didn’t take a picture of my smoothie, but just take my word for it that it was delicious!

I felt so well-rested and energized all day — probably in part to the best sleep I have had in literally years last night. I fell asleep waiting for my video to export at around 11:15 p.m., which for a college student is still rather early. I woke up on my own before my alarm at around 7:30 this morning and felt ready to go for the whole day. I didn’t wake up in the night and fell asleep right away. I know with complete certainty that this is because of going vegan.

Tomorrow marks my one weekaversary (I know that isn’t a word, but let’s roll with it, shall we?) of being vegan. Crazy to think it has been a week since I have had dairy but in some ways, it feels like I have been doing this so much longer because it just feels so simple and natural (no pun intended, there). I’ll make tomorrow a special one.

Do any of you have a favorite way to use kale? Are any of you still new to kale? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

