Main Street Vegan (Hey, that’s me!!)

So I started a new book today (and finished a different one but that’s beside the point). I thought Hey, since I am making the switch to vegan, maybe I should read up on it to be the strongest, most well-educated and empowered vegan I can be. Enter Victoria Moran with her book “Main Street Vegan.” As irony would have it, I live on Main Street in a county that has the same name as Victoria’s daughter/co-author of the book….crazy how these things work, no? It’s like the universe wanted me to read this book.

Obviously since I just started it today, I am not all the way done with it. I’m maybe seven or so chapters in and already learning so many new things about amino acids, proteins, carbs for vegans and getting inspiration for awesome new foods and recipes to try. One thing Moran does is put a recipe at the end of each chapter to tie the idea of the chapter together…how cool is that? I am already dying to try her veggie burger recipe with lentils…yum!

My hope is to have it finished by the week so I will give a much more thorough report when I do — I promise to keep you all posted, as always.

As for my meals today:

Breakfast: Green smoothie (water, kale, blueberries, half banana)

Lunch: Peanut butter on whole wheat, banana, coffee with Silk Very Vanilla soymilk

Mid-Afternoon Snack: Ants on a log (celery, peanut butter and raisins) while watching “The Great Gatsby” (If this combination is wrong, I don’t ever want to be right!!!!)

Dinner: Taco (Boca “beef” crumbles, tomato, 1/2 avocado) with a side of vegetarian refried beans and carrots. I had a glass of wine after — Cupcake White Wine. Cupcake Vineyards said in a company email that their wines are vegan with no animal byproducts used in the distillation process, so yay for that.

Evening Snack: Baby carrots and peanut butter. You can never have enough peanut butter in my world.

Leave a Reply

