Vegan Eating in College

Just because you live in a dorm or rented apartment with limited space (similar to my situation!) doesn’t mean you can’t master the vegan life like a seasoned (pun intended) professional.

So when classes get crazy, nutrition and label-reading might fall second to convenience and what can be scarfed down quickly between classes and meetings. My experience with veganism and college (the stressful first week back, mind you) has been calm and collected.

Instead of running toward the vending machine [in his blog Weight Matters, Yoni Freedhoff explains an average snack out of one of these mystical boxes packs on 433 calories and up to 60 grams of sugar…that’s a pretty nasty offense] — you can stay on top of classes, your vegan diet and your hunger by stocking up on nature’s convenience foods. Some of my favorite things for in-between:

  • Carrot sticks and peanut butter
  • Celery and peanut butter
  • Apple
  • Dry granola and banana
  • Vegan granola bars
  • Larabars (You can actually make your own with dates, cocoa powder and vanilla. I’ve made these so many times, thanks to Chocolate Covered Katie)

You’ll save yourself a ton of calories and probably some change that could be used to pay a parking meter or grab a celebratory soy latte on a Friday.

So for my meals today?

Breakfast: Things got a little crazy in my apartment this morning. I FORGOT to get bananas at the store yesterday so instead of getting frustrated this morning, I yelled “plot twist!!” and threw in a bunch of kale, 1 cup water, a handful of blueberries, a handful of raspberries and a scant teaspoon of wheat bran. Wheat bran adds complex fiber and omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids that vegans must have a good balance of. It was delightful.

Lunch: Peanut butter sandwich on whole wheat with a side of apple slices and carrot sticks (and some more peanut butter for dipping). Wash it down with my Silk Very Vanilla coffee.

Dinner: I’ll admit it: after 4 classes and numerous meetings, I was a lazy vegan tonight. Instead of preparing a soy protein for a taco, I just put some seasoning in some beans, chopped up the most beautiful avocado and a tomato and called it dinner. I’m thinking spaghetti tomorrow.

cropped-screen-shot-2013-08-19-at-5-33-40-pm.png

I am going to have dreams about this beautiful avocado for at least a week.

Look for another touch-base of “Main Street Vegan” tomorrow! I got some work out of the way so I can snuggle in with my Nook under the duvet and knock a few chapters out.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Eating in College

  1. I am a vegetarian in college and living in my sorority house I thought it would be hard to maintain this dietary restriction – but I was pleasantly surprised! I am always able to find alternatives that are delicious and healthy.

    • Hi, Ani!
      I am just south of you at Truman State University in Kirksville, Mo.! It makes me so happy to see how clean eating and vegetarianism have impacted you and that it is something that you have stuck with throughout college. It can be really tough sometimes to resist those social pressures of going out drinking with friends and trips to Taco Bell, but I have also been pleasantly surprised: once you set the intention to eat as wholesomely as you can, the rest falls into place so easily. It has definitely pushed me to try new recipes with different alternatives that I wouldn’t have tried as a vegetarian.
      Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

