21 days of dairy-free

Happy Sunday, guys!

Crazy to think that it has been three full weeks since making the switch to vegan. I will never forget the day — it was the day came home from camping with my sister, her friends and their sisters…

Floating my troubles away!

Floating my troubles away!

Waking up and heading home on Sunday morning three weeks ago.

Waking up and heading home on Sunday morning three weeks ago. Can you tell which one is my sister?

It was also the day I drove back up to Kirksville to get settled back in for my senior year at Truman State…when did THAT happen? It was also the night I was reunited with these beauties:

If you can believe it, the above picture and this picture was taken the same day. I guess I clean up okay.

If you can believe it, the above picture and this picture was taken the same day. I guess I clean up okay.

Zack, Kelly, Sydney, Nathan, Becky, me, Gretchen, Lynnea and Christian in the front. I missed these crazy Preceptors!

Zack, Kelly, Sydney, Nathan, Becky, me, Gretchen, Lynnea and Christian in the front at this swanky little get together. I missed these crazy Preceptors!

It was ALSO the night I made my summer corn salad recipe! My last non-vegan meal was a Subway sandwich before I hit the road to come back here (it had cheese on it). If someone would have told me that night how I would be feeling at the same time three weeks later, I’m not sure if I would have believed them. Yet here I am and I cannot imagine my life any other way.

I had so much homework to do today so I had a really low-key day as far as food went. I also have a lot of little things that need to get eaten. What’s almost as flexible as a green smoothie and just as healthy? SALAD!

The most beautiful salad you ever did see.

The most beautiful salad you ever did see.

I have this lovely spring mix of greens and threw in locally-grown grape tomatoes, diced cucumber, half of an avocado (my weakness!), artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, baby portobello mushrooms and Newman’s Own vinegar and oil dressing — it’s vegan! I had a tiny side of whole wheat pasta with organic marinara, but I did make salad my main dish and the pasta as the smaller, rather than the other way around. I was stuffed. What an easy, flexible meal that uses up a lot of odd and end things so you don’t have to pitch anything! It was also around 97 degrees today, so I wasn’t feeling anything heavy for dinner. This was perfect and sat in front of me as I did my Feminist Criticism readings.

So — three weeks in. If I was only doing thirty days, I’d have one week left of this switch. I can’t picture going back to dairy though and can’t wait to see where the next three weeks, months, years, etc. take me.

I’m thinking Subway for dinner tomorrow between classes and meetings since Mondays are my busy days. I hope you all have a great start to your week and a restful night!

2 thoughts on “21 days of dairy-free

Leave a Reply

