Foodie Adventures + First Day of October!

Hi everybody! Just because the United States government is temporarily on hold doesn’t mean my blog has to be! I have been super busy with midterms just around the corner but wanted to pop in tonight and share what I have been up to + share a recipe with you!

To honor the first day of October (and because I am busy this week and don’t have time every night to make a full dinner from start to finish), I made some delicious chili last night. It was vegan heaven in this apartment:

Vegan heaven in chili form…plus I got to break out my Le Creuset which is always a happy thing.

I honestly can’t remember how long it has been since my mom has made this her go-to chili recipe. She adapted it from the original “Spicy Sweet Honey Chili.” Since we are both vegetarian, she omitted the ground beef that is supposed to go in it and I wouldn’t have it any other way — this chili is absolutely delicious with those lovely beans and gorgeous peppers. It’s SUPER easy too. Here’s the recipe (I know this thing by heart):

Spicy Sweet Honey Chili:

  • 2 cans of dark red kidney beans
  • 1 can of petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 jalepeno peppers, chopped finely
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp thyme leaves
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/3 cup pure honey IF you are the kind of vegan that swings that way. If you aren’t, just add some more cinnamon to taste
  • Olive oil to brown the garlic (maybe a tablespoon, tops?)

Method: Rinse and chop all of your veggies. If you want your chili to be really spicy, you can leave the seeds in the peppers. Chop the green pepper in the food processor. After you have prepped all of your veggies, toss the garlic and jalepenos into a stockpot or dutch oven to brown. Then, add all remaining ingredients. Cover and let simmer on low for at least 25 minutes. That’s it!! It makes enough for dinner for the week…one cup is a generous serving. I love spicy food so when I reheat it, I usually add a ton of Tabasco sauce and have a half of a peanut butter sandwich on the side. Tonight, though, avocado on toast won as my side.

In other food adventures since I have last checked in, here are a few:

Vegan quesadilla with Daiya dairy-free cheese. I found a TON of it at HyVee and had to try it. I give it my best recommendation!

Vegan quesadilla with Daiya dairy-free cheese. I found a TON of it at HyVee and had to try it. I give it my best recommendation!

Hummus, sprouts and tomatoes on Ezekiel. Sometimes I'm lazy!

Hummus, sprouts and tomatoes on Ezekiel. Sometimes I’m lazy!

I had to fuel up really well this past week for the Warrior Dash that I participated in with a friend this past Saturday. Some of the most fun I have ever had!!

 

Pure vegan sass in Warrior Dash Attire.

Pure vegan sass in Warrior Dash Attire.

The race is a 5k, obstacle-laden, all-around good time…and for a great cause! Proceeds benefit St. Jude. Plus, it meant I got to have a weekend at home, have a great time with a wonderful friend, crawl through the mud AND wear that awesome tutu (which ended up getting lost in the mud but we aren’t going to talk about that).

Kelly and me, pre-race.

Kelly and me, pre-race.

The first mile was just running until we encountered our first obstacle…Storming Normandy. You had to army crawl under a net and then underneath some barbed warrior before you got muddy. Things got dirty pretty quickly!

Warrior status.

Warrior status.

Some of the other obstacles included climbing up chain ladders, climbing up huge cargo nets, crawling through trenches, and even jumping over fire!

I got some serious air on this and I was actually terrified.

I got some serious air on this and I was actually terrified.

I’m a little bruised up and my body was pretty sore for a day or two but it was some of the most fun I have ever had. Definitely would suggest it to anyone!

Truman State loves Warrior Dash!

Truman State loves Warrior Dash!

Plus, there is the incentive of free beer at the finish line. So there’s that.

I'd say we earned this beer. PLUS Miller Lite is vegan. Yay!

I’d say we earned this beer. PLUS Miller Lite is vegan. Yay!

Before I go for the night, I did want to address one final thing: today is World Vegetarian Day! I have been vegetarian for ten whole years and vegan for almost two months. Going vegetarian was the best decision I have ever made (before I decided to go vegan) and ever since I made the switch, it has been something I hold in really high regard. It has always, always, always been something so special to me and something that I would never give up, even if someone paid me. Being vegetarian is who I am and it has taught me so many things about myself, animals, love and the earth. Sure, the choice has come with its share of hardships and inconveniences and awkward moments at the dinner table, but when I think about the horror and suffering animals go through to get from farm to plate, my problems suddenly don’t seem that bad. Whether you are vegetarian, vegan, a meat eater or someone who is simply on the fence about the whole thing, I urge you to recognize vegetarianism for more than one day out of 365. Push yourself outside of your comfort zone, learn something new and do something compassionate. With all of the delicious options, readily available information and growing groups of vegetarians and vegans, there is no better time to make the switch and never look back…or at least give it a try.

I’ll leave with this from Tolstoy, one of my favorite authors: “A man can live and be healthy without killing animals for food; therefore, if he eats meat, he participates in taking animal life merely for the sake of his appetite. And to act so is immoral.”

Happy World Vegetarian Day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Foodie Adventures + First Day of October!

  1. The chilli looks really, really good, and I’m sure agave would work well instead of honey. The warrior dash looks so much fun, but I’m not sure how I’d feel about jumping over fire … well done:)

    • Thank you! I absolutely give it my best—it’s my favorite recipe during the colder months. I will definitely have to try it with agave…what a great idea!

      Warrior Dash was a BLAST…but definitely terrifying in some parts haha! 🙂 Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

