On the Way Home

Hey there, guys!

It’s a wrap for NOLA ’13 — I learned so many cool things (and met some pretty cool people) at the National College Media Conference and had such a good time getting to know the beauty that is New Orleans, Louisiana.

Before I went out and enjoyed my last night in The Big Easy, it was imperative that I got some work done. I ducked away in a Starbucks to cross a few items off of my to-do list when a group of gentlemen sat down next to me and started talking to me — turns out they were exchange students from Brazil! We got to talking and one thing led to the next and they asked me if I had a good dinner suggestion…remember Attiki? It was so good that I told them I gave it my best recommendation. I hope they liked it! It was uncharacteristically chilly that night so I headed back to the hotel to wrap up a bit…

Bundled up before I hit the last night of NOLA — I felt like Molly Hooper.

Bundled up before I hit the last night of NOLA — I felt like Molly Hooper.

I grabbed [what I thought] would be my last cup of PJ’s Coffee and with a soy latte, I set out for adventure! There was a Halloween parade that the whole city came out in their craziest costumes. I found a quieter spot to get lost and made my way around the city to stumble upon these two views before calling it a night:

From Riverwalk

From Riverwalk

A really pretty fountain at the end of Riverwalk.

A really pretty fountain at the end of Riverwalk.

The morning broke far too soon and after a breakfast of oats and honeydew, our group made our way to the airport to be greeted by the longest security line I have ever been in. All of the rushing through was for nothing, however, as the original plane that was to take us to St. Louis had a leak, therefore we had to wait for a new plane to arrive for us. We ended up going through an ordeal of switching gates and boarding a different plane, so I had some time for coffee during the nearly one hour delay.

My ACTUAL last cup of PJ's in the airport.

My ACTUAL last cup of PJ’s in the airport.

It was airport coffee, so I will take what I can get. Plus, coffee is coffee. And if I know one thing with certainty, I know any situation is manageable with a soy latte and a “Sherlock Holmes” book (I am reading “The Sign of the Four” and loving it!) After making it to St. Louis after two or so hours, I was famished and ready to eat, especially after our delay. 

Here’s the deal: I love St. Louis. I love being from St. Louis. I consider St. Louis to be a vegan-friendly place…with the exception of the Southwest Airlines terminal at Lambert Airport.

Your options are: Dunkin Donuts, Burger King, California Pizza Kitchen, Chili’s and Starbucks. All I wanted was something green, but this is how the flight ended for me:

Perfect Oatmeal...it seems I have come full-circle.

Perfect Oatmeal…it seems I have come full-circle.

Airport food leaves some to be desired but when I’m hungry, I’m hungry and I will gladly have oatmeal to hold me over. We had a five hour layover between St. Louis and Kirksville, so I had plenty of time to knock out some Statistics homework and read my book (with coffee in tow, of course).

We had a smooth flight back to Kirksville (I had to sit in the co-pilot’s seat, which was so neat!) and I drove as quickly as I could to Subway to FINALLY get something of the veggie variety. After a few hours of laundry, work and some quality time with one of my closest friends, it was time to hit it. NOLA is gorgeous and I am already craving another adventure, but nothing beats sleeping in my own bed, making my own coffee and having things in their place in my cute little apartment.

Speaking of coffee,

I am enjoying a slice of The Big Easy as I sip my cafe latte in my new mug:

I may not have been able to have a cafe au lait at Cafe Du Monde, but I will certainly have my own version of the soy variety in a mug from there. Cheers!

I may not have been able to have a cafe au lait at Cafe Du Monde, but I will certainly have my own version of the soy variety in a mug from there. Cheers!

So where does this week bring me? Well, first of all, it’s the closing of yet another month which means I have been a vegan for two and a half months! I think I’ll celebrate the milestone and the colder weather by breaking out the Le Creuset and making a pot of vegan chili with poblano peppers — delicious! And perhaps spending some time reflecting on the fun I had last week to get me through this busy part of the semester.

 

 

 

A snapchat I sent to my friends as we departed Louis Armstrong Airport.

A snapchat I sent to my friends as we departed Louis Armstrong Airport.

IMG_2976In love and coffee,

 

 

Leave a Reply

