The Sunshine Award

I was sorting through emails and sitting down to do homework when I got a notification that Ani over at Miles for Thought nominated my blog as one of her ten for a Sunshine Award! I am so honored + full of gratitude that she nominated my blog and really grateful for the amazing feedback I have gotten from everyone on my vegan adventures. I know vegan isn’t for everyone but it means the world to me that my friends, family and followers have extended such kindness and support.  A huge thank you to Ani!

sunshine_award

Here are the 10 questions Ani gave to her nominees, along with my answers:

1) You can only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what is it? 

A delicious chana masala — the spicier, the better.

2) Is there anything you wish you could change about yourself to be healthier? 

In regards to physical health, I have to answer negatively. I exercise, I eat really well and I get a good amount of rest. Physically, I have never felt better. I do, however, wish I wasn’t as hard on myself as I am and had a better relationship with body image — which is a huge part of health and one I have struggled with for a long time and continue to struggle with on occasion. Since going vegan, I think I have gotten a lot better with self-love, so it is always a process and I am always learning and growing.

3) If money was no issue, how would you spend your time? 

Traveling and seeing all of the places and things I always wanted to. Getting lost and going on adventures.

4) If you have an hour to kill, what do you do? 

Read or watch an episode of “Sherlock” or “Doctor Who.” I wish I had more hours to kill — student life grants few of those luxuries.

5) What is one superpower you wish you had? 

Flight — how fun would that be? I have no desire to time travel or alter fate or read people’s minds [scary].

6) Do you have a particular cookbook that you love? 

Even though it is one of the most vegan un-friendly books on the market, I cannot help but love Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.” Julia Child changed the way Americans interacted with food forever and was fearless about making a name for herself during a time when women were discouraged from doing so. Her intuition and passion can inspire anyone and her recipes are really quite delicious. I haven’t tried to veganize any of them yet, but I am sure I will at some point. I consider her book to be the Gold Standard when it comes to cooking literature.

7) What is your favorite Thanksgiving food/side dish? 

I absolutely love my mom’s sweet potatoes — I don’t have the recipe for them and I’ve no idea how she makes them, but all I know is they are absolutely amazing and I eat them in large, greedy heaps. Although, I think there might be butter in them so this year might be different as I am not breaking my veganism in the name of Thanksgiving or ever.

8) What is one piece of advice you would give to someone wanting to change their diet (i.e. go vegan, give up a certain food)? 

DO YOUR RESEARCH. Read books, watch documentaries, find someone knowledgeable to answer questions you might still have. When you are armed with knowledge about whatever change you are making, you will be much more apt to stick to it and feel confident in your change. Always keep your mind open and embrace that you will never be done growing and learning. Changing your diet or going vegan isn’t about reaching a goal or making a change for others, it is about becoming the best possible version of yourself that you can be. Do it for you and only you when the time feels right. Trust me, you’ll know when.

9) If you got the opportunity to live in another country for a year, which country would you choose? 

England so that I can accidentally meet Benedict Cumberbatch in a cafe and we can become best friends, of course. No, no — I am totally kidding. In all seriousness, probably England because I think the architecture there is stunning and I have always been a literary nerd and I’d want to see Baker Street in real life. Plus on a more practical note, I can’t speak foreign languages for anything so an English-speaking country would probably be the way to go.

10) What is your favorite movie?

A tough question and one that the answer changes, depending on the mood I am in, the weather outside and what is in my tummy. “The Great Gatsby” (the new one) is easily one of my favorites, though. Let’s go with that.

As per Sunshine Award guidelines, I am to pick my 10 favorite blogs on WordPress:

Rowen at Fantastic Flavor

Jessica at Curiosity Killed the Craft 

Sydney at Just Water Please 

Bandhna at Sparkle Bubble 

Alexander at In Vegetables We Trust 

Emily at Emily Cooks Vegan

Mrs. Veg at Mrs Veg 

Ani at Miles for Thought 

Monika at Windy City Vegan 

Shannon at Move Eat Create 

Here are my questions:

  1. How has creating (this could be writing, cooking, crafting, anything) impact you or changed you?
  2. What is your favorite meal you have ever cooked?
  3. If you could give your younger self one piece of advice, what would it be?
  4. Describe yourself using only three adjectives.
  5. If you could sit down and have coffee/tea with one person (alive or not), who would it be and why?
  6. Cats or dogs?
  7. What is your favorite Christmas tradition?
  8. Who is your greatest role model?
  9. What is your favorite movie?
  10. How has writing and sharing your blog impacted you?

Want to participate in the fun? Here’s what you can do:

  • Post the award logo in your text post (see above) 
  • Link back to the person who nominated you (share the love)
  • Answer my ten questions on your blog post (you know you want to)
  • Nominate 10 blogger friends, notify them and post links to them (all of the blogging love)

11 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

    • You’re welcome and thank you! 🙂 I love your blog!! I want to go there SO bad — and the fact that I wouldn’t be lost or confused with the language is just an added bonus, haha 🙂 xx

  1. Have you seen the movie Julie and Julia? That would be a great experiment to do what she did and cook through Julia Child’s cookbook, but recreate each recipe as a vegan version!

    • You are so welcome! 🙂 Your blog is excellent and I really, really enjoy it. All of the people I have met and followed on here blow me away with how talented and interesting they are. 🙂

  2. Aww, thank you so much. It’s so lovely of you to nominate me. I’m really looking forward to checking out my co-nominees’ blogs, I know some of them but not all. Congratulations everyone x x

Leave a Reply

