The Veggie Burgers That Almost Weren’t

Let me tell you a true story about how this gloriousness almost didn’t happen last night. Almost. 

I drove back to school yesterday with a cup of great coffee, three hours worth of my favorite John Mayer and the dread of the to-do list that was waiting for me as soon as I arrived. I am turning right back around in two weeks to leave for Winter Break as another semester goes whooshing by. Since I left at a weird time and woke up late yesterday morning, all I had was half of a serving of Banana Bread Oatmeal. Needless to say, I was ravenous when I got back to my apartment.

You can't really blame me for leaving home later than I wanted to...especially with a view like this. Two more weeks and this is my view for a month!

You can’t really blame me for leaving home later than I wanted to…especially with a view like this. Two more weeks and this is my view for a month! (Note: Yes that is a functional typewriter on my desk and yes I do use it.)

I was making my grocery list and found myself stuck in a weird rut — I wanted to make something I could have for dinner for the week since I am going to be so busy in the evenings but I didn’t want my usual chili or soup or tofu wrap. What to do, what to do?

Enter Vegan Chipolte Sweet Potato Burgers from The Chubby Vegetarian. I had everything I needed for these except for the peppers. It actually worked out perfectly because I had two sweet potatoes I desperately needed to use before they started sprouting like they do when they go bad.

Guess what I got at the store?

Everything I needed EXCEPT FOR the peppers. Textbook Danielle.

Of course, I realized this after I already had the mashed sweet potatoes and quick oats and spices in my mixer. I stood in my kitchen, had a bit of a diva moment and then debated: Do I go back out and get canned peppers or do I cut my losses and do a creative substitution? 

Definitely glad I used the Kitchen Aid for this.

Definitely glad I used the Kitchen Aid for this.

Well, the former won.

I left everything as it was, grabbed my keys and dashed in and out of the store and was back in my apartment in five minutes. I’m glad I did because without the canned peppers, these burgers would have been extremely dry. Instead of chipolte peppers, I used two small cans of chopped green chiles and they tasted just fine.

I used just a tiny bit of canola oil to pan cook the patties which, by the way, yielded seven for me rather than four, as per the recipe. I never fry anything and so I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a small tiny flame on one of my burners that gave me a mini-heart attack. Whoops! All is well though and my dinner was amazing. I was looking forward to leftovers all day.

The patty is buried under there, I swear.

The patty is buried under there, I swear.

There we go.

There we go.

 

Eat this on whole wheat buns or bread or crumble up and go without a bun — it’s delicious no matter how you eat it. I put it between a Schaer whole-wheat ciabatta bun and piled on a spring mix, tomato and half of an avocado.

So even with two trips to the store in one night and a small kitchen fire, this dinner was an 11 on a scale of one to 10. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

I know I said it already, but this week is crazy for me up until Wednesday, on which I have a statistics test. So I won’t be writing until Thursday but I have something planned (some research I did + a new breakfast recipe). Until then, it’s study nonstop for statistics and finish this semester!

Leave a Reply

